 |
Rubio's Facebook page sez he's in Minny? |
 |

06-29-2009, 03:58 PM
|
 |
Poof!
 MVP
|
|
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Acme Labs
Posts: 3,575
|
|
|
Rubio's Facebook page sez he's in Minny?
Here is a link I got from another board:
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ricky-...d=115991868034
I never use Facebook so I have no way of knowing if this is legit.
__________________
"It's tough to make predictions, especially about the future." -- Yogi Berra
|

06-29-2009, 04:35 PM
|
|
Member
 All-League Performer
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,330
|
|
|
It looks legit. He has over 1600 fans and it says "The Official Ricky Rubio Facebook page."
"I'm in Minnesota with my family discussing my buyout and career."
|

06-29-2009, 04:38 PM
|
 |
Slitherer
 Legend
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lost in the Suburbs
Posts: 18,087
|
|
|
Shooter's Birdie was right.
__________________
R-E-S-P-E-C-T find out what it means to me!
|

06-29-2009, 04:43 PM
|
 |
Member
 Starter
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 785
|
|
|
Just because there are a bunch of fans doesn't mean that it is actually maintained by Rubio.
__________________
There is an eloquence in true enthusiasm.
~ Edgar Allan Poe
|

06-29-2009, 04:44 PM
|
|
Member
 All-League Performer
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,246
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by LEvine
It looks legit. He has over 1600 fans and it says "The Official Ricky Rubio Facebook page."
"I'm in Minnesota with my family discussing my buyout and career."
|
It doesn't look legit to me. One of the recent updates to the profile was a change to the birthdate; I'd assume that if Rubio really set up an "official" facebook page, he'd be able to enter his own birthdate when he set it up.
Almost all of the comments are also direct quotes of things he's said in various media interviews, or on his actual official website.
I call bull****
|

06-29-2009, 04:48 PM
|
 |
Target Field 2010
 All-League Performer
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,098
|
|
|
It's not a profile, either. It's a page which is used for famous people, teams, etc. Looks very fake to me.
|

06-29-2009, 04:51 PM
|
|
Member
 All-League Performer
|
|
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,330
|
|
Don't know. It does link here:
http://www.rickyrubio9.com/
which seems to be his official site. Its entirely possible that he doesn't update it, but it could be party of his "team".
|

06-29-2009, 04:54 PM
|
 |
Not suffering from premature celebration
 Starter
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: School of hard knocks
Posts: 519
|
|
|
I don't think anyone has enough time to set up such an elaborate hoax such as that. If so they really should get a life!!!
|

06-29-2009, 04:59 PM
|
 |
He who farts when he pees
 Regular Rotation
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 306
|
|
|
It might be legit, as in, its not a psycho fan maintaining it. I doubt it is a personal site though. Not a single personal photo, just ones that are publicly available.
But it could very well be maintained by "his people".
About the birth date change -- well I have lots of friends on Facebook who've used it for years who didn't feel inclined to disclose their birth date at first but later did so as they got more comfortable with the site.
Either way it is a positive sign.
|

06-29-2009, 05:03 PM
|
 |
Member
 All-League Performer
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,260
|
|
|
Seems legit, unless the dude who is setting up the hoax is bilingual. Not a single gramatical error in Spanish anywhere.
__________________
|

06-29-2009, 05:06 PM
|
 |
Supporter
 Legend
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 6,340
|
|
|
sweet jesus. this is going to be a long, strange ride
__________________
Jersey Wolf for GM of your Minnesota Timberwolves - '09/'10
|

06-29-2009, 05:15 PM
|
 |
Member
 Regular Rotation
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 241
|
|
|
It's a legit page. Every celebrity and their mother now has a "page" where you become a fan, rather than a friend or member of a group. This is the only "page" for Ricky, and with the amount of activity, a fake one would've been shut down by now.
__________________
~Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things, and no good thing ever dies.
|

06-29-2009, 05:20 PM
|
 |
Member
 All-League Performer
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,260
|
|
|
Yes, Shaq even has a facebook.
__________________
|

06-29-2009, 05:31 PM
|
|
Nothing left to say...
 Legend
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,702
|
|
|
It's not a personal facebook page. It is a "Become a fan of Page."
Rob
|

06-29-2009, 05:33 PM
|
 |
Member
 All-League Performer
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,260
|
|
|
So is Shaq's Stretch, but he still uploads personal vidoes and such to his.
__________________
|

06-29-2009, 05:57 PM
|
 |
"I CANT TAKE IT ANYMORE!!" - Samson, of Half Baked
 MVP
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,744
|
|
|
facebook athlete pages are usually fake, and it's also a Ricky Rubio fan page not his actual account. I'm not sure but I left a message anyways.
|

06-29-2009, 06:43 PM
|
 |
Target Field 2010
 All-League Performer
|
|
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,098
|
|
|
The thing is, anybody can start the page and then they get to manage it. In Shaq's case, he started it and therefore manages it with his photos, etc.
|
 |
|
 |

06-29-2009, 07:35 PM
|
 |
Member
 Regular Rotation
|
|
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 241
|
|
I'll bite one more time on the facebook authenticity concerns:
http://www.facebook.com/help.php?page=906
There's an explanation with all the terms of use, privacy issues, blah blah blah surrounding "pages."
Only an "official representative of a celebrity or public figure, band, business, or other organization" can create a page.
Now, can somebody manage to troll into facebook and create an unauthorized account? Sure. But if you're an 18 year-old basketball phenom (and one with your own website to boot), what are the odds you're not on facebook? I give it literally less than 1%.
And beyond that, the odds that you or someone in your camp hasn't become aware of a fake page about you on this so-called facebook? Yikes.
Beyond his own social agenda, having a page on facebook is pure marketing. I'd be shocked if he didn't have one (and this is the only one out there).
__________________
~Hope is a good thing, maybe the best of things, and no good thing ever dies.
|
 |

06-29-2009, 07:40 PM
|
 |
Member
 All Star Reserve
|
|
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,053
|
|
|
Fake or not, noticed alot of NY fans posting.
NY fans and media really need a life beyond other people affairs.
|

06-29-2009, 08:05 PM
|
 |
A friend is one before whom I can think aloud. RWE
 Legend
|
|
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 7,741
|
|
|
There is zero chance that Ricky Rubio or any of his "official" representatives listed "Affiliation: Minnesota Timberwolves" on Facebook at this particular moment.
The End.
|
|
Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
|
|
|
| Thread Tools |
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 PM. |
|
|